AIA SFV Awards 2012 Scholarships to Woodbury University Students

Woodbury University’s School of Architecture’s Grand Critique Presentation was held on October 30th at the Ahmanson Main Space within the Architecture Building. The program was opened by Jeanine Centuori, Chair of the Architectural Undergrad Student Program. Short presentations were made by each of the three Grand Critique winners, followed by a question and answer forum. The program was emceed by graduate students Henry Cheung (a 2012 award winner) and John Epperly.

This year, the AIA SFV awarded three $1,000 scholarships, six $500 scholarships and—new this year—two $400 scholarships reserved for graduate students finishing their Woodbury University architectural studies. The awards for the Student Selection, Faculty Selection and Highest Grade Point Average were awarded through the Architectural Faculty and Students. The AIA SFV Architectural Foundation awards were selected considering personal portfolios submitted by the students. The Grad Student Awards were selected on graduate level projects and thesis statements submitted to the Faculty and Ingalill Wahlroos‐Ritter, Chair of the School of Architecture Graduate Student Program.

2012 Scholarship Winners

Teagan Castellon
Architectural Student Selection Award
Rudolph De Chellis, FAIA Scholarship

Eric Arm
Highest Student G.P.A. Award
George G. Terpatsi, AIA Memorial Scholarship

Damiana Zinn
Architectural Faculty Selection Award
Joel Jaffe, AIA and Robin Jaffe, AIA Scholarship

Gregory Dulgerya
Architectural Scholarship Award

Paul M. Tuason
Architectural Scholarship Award

Michael Franz Sibayan
Architectural Scholarship Award

Justin Owens
Architectural Scholarship Award

Kellen Carel
Architectural Scholarship Award

Michael Anderson
Architectural Scholarship Award

Pamas Moleeratanond
Grad Student
Architectural Scholarship Award

Henry Cheung
Grad Student
Architectural Scholarship Award

As part of the Chapter’s commitment to serving our profession and community, the AIA SFV has consistently continued to recognize and encourage architectural students in the community, including those at Woodbury University. The Chapter views the education process, which integrates both the value of design and problem solving, as well as the encouragement of students and young professionals to be an integral part of that mission. Architectural students will, as the future stewards of our built environments, be called on by society to take leadership roles as visionaries for sustainable design, providing environments that accommodate social and cultural forces.

Consequently, AIA SFV is committed to a long term relationship with Woodbury University; the only accredited Architectural School within the Chapter boundaries.

The AIA San Fernando Valley Chapter has established a Foundation expressly to fund the scholarships that were awarded this year, and continues to accept additional contributions from individuals, companies, design corporations and other sources to further the growth of the endowment program.

Please contact Leslie A. Nathan, Executive Director at (818) 907‐7151 or at the AIA SFV chapter office for further information on how to work directly with the AIA SFV Fund, the non‐profit Foundation for the AIA SFV Chapter.