2016 AIA/SFV & AIA/SFV Endowment FUND Scholarship Awards at Woodbury University, School of Architecture

The Grand Critique Presentation was held on November 8th at the Woodbury University Campus in the Ahmanson Main Space, School of Architecture Building. Interim Dean of the SoA Ingalill Wahlroos-Ritter and Marc Neveu PhD, Chair of the Architecture Department, were also present during the festivities. The scholarship awards were presented to the three 5th year Grand Critique and eight additional winners selected based on portfolios submitted by the Grad and Under-Grad students. Short presentations by each of the three Grand Critique winners were followed by a question and answer forum from the student and faculty audience.

This year the AIA/SFV awarded five $500.00 scholarships and an additional three $500.00 scholarships reserved for Grad Students finishing their Woodbury University Architectural studies. Members of the American Institute of Architects, San Fernando Valley Chapter (which extends from Mulholland Hwy. to the North Los Angeles County Line and the Antelope Valley), have a mission to serve our profession and our community. To further our mission, the AIA/SFV has committed to recognize and encourage architectural students in our community and at Woodbury University by funding scholarships through the school’s Grand Critique Awards program. These endeavors are supported and fostered by AIA National through a scholarship grant to the chapter.

We view the education process – integrating both the value of design and problem solving to encourage the students as young professionals, to be an integral part of that mission. We believe that architecture students will assume their roles as the future stewards of our built environments and will be called on as visionaries for sustainable environments accommodating social and cultural forces throughout the United States and the world.

2016-winnersThe AIA San Fernando Valley Chapter has established an independent endowment account expressly to fund these named scholarships which are being awarded consisting of $1,000.00 scholarships. We accept additional contributions from individuals, companies, design corporations, and other sources to further the growth of the endowment program.

  1. Architectural Student Selection Award, AIA/SFV Endowment FUND, Rudolph De Chellis, FAIA Memorial Scholarship Award: William Ellsworth
  2. Highest Student G.P.A. Award, AIA/SFV Endowment FUND, George G. Terpatsi, AIA Memorial Scholarship Award: Michael Turk
  3. Architectural Faculty Selection Award, AIA/SFV Endowment FUND, Joel Jaffe, AIA and Robin Jaffe, AIA Scholarship Award: Jessica Gardner

The awards for the Student Selection, Faculty Selection and Highest Grade Point Average were awarded through Woodbury University, Architectural Faculty and Students. The AIA/SFV Architectural Scholarship Awards were selected considering individual project portfolios submitted by the students. The Grad Students’ Past Presidents Leadership Awards were selected based on graduate level projects/thesis statements submitted with their application for scholarship consideration.

AIA/San Fernando Valley Chapter – Architectural Scholarship Awards

  1.  Myint Tun, 4th yr. Arch. Student
  2. Jun Jie (Jasper) Liao, 4th yr. Int. Arch. St.
  3. Dylan Bacher, 4th yr. Arch Student
  4. Olga Zakharova, 5th yr. Arch. Student
  5. Kristel Marquez, 4th yr. Arch. Student

AIA/San Fernando Valley Chapter – Past Presidents’ Leadership Award for Architectural Studies

  1.    Genevive Enriquez, Arch. Grad. Student
  2. Joanna Jankowska, Arch. Grad. Student
  3. Sara Koshk Noei, Int. Arch. Grad. Student 

2016mike11-8-162016russmike11-8-16 Mike Silva, AIA and Russell Myers, AIA at the presentation for the AIA SFV Chapter



We are committed to a long term relationship with Woodbury University – the only accredited Architectural School within our Chapter boundaries. Please contact the chapter offices for further information about supporting our scholarship programs benefiting Woodbury University’s School of Architecture students.

David Murray, dmurray@earthsystems.com
Leslie Nathan, AIA, Executive Director AIA/SFV, edirector@aiasfv.org
Michael Silva, AIA, Chair – Academic & Education Committee, (818) 437-6568, msilva@FORMarchitecturalinc.com